Print Friendly

After 541 days as the designated and Acting Undersecretary of State for Arms Control and International Security, Rose Gottemoeller was confirmed by the Senate on March 6th, 2014 by a vote of 58-42. GOP legislators opposed to the administration’s arms control policies had delayed her confirmation. The Senate Democratic leadership could not garner the 60 votes needed to bring the nomination to the floor until a change in Senate rules in late 2013 allowed presidential nominees to pass by a simple majority.

The vote to confirm Gottemoeller fell mostly along party lines with the exception of three Democratic senators (members of the ICBM Caucus) who voted against, and six (mainly pro-START) Republicans who voted in favor, including Sen. Bob Corker (R-TN), the ranking member of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee.

The Nuclear Security Working Group congratulates Undersecretary Gottemoeller on her confirmation and thanks the members of the group who worked to encourage bipartisan support for her confirmation.

The Following is a breakdown of the recent  vote:


Democrats voting against 

John Walsh [D-MT]

Jon Tester [D-MT]

Heidi Heitkamp [D-ND]

GOP voting in favor

Lisa A. Murkowski [R-AK]

Jeff Flake [R-AZ]John H. Isakson [R-GA]

Bob Corker [R-TN]

Susan M. Collins [R-ME]

Lamar Alexander [R-TN]


Tags: , ,