Applying for the 2018 GW-NSWG Congressional Nuclear Security Fellowship

The NSWG is currently considering applicants for its 2018-2019 Congressional Nuclear Security Fellowship. To apply, please visit the 2018-2019 Congressional Nuclear Security Fellowship Application page and submit all required materials before October 31st, 2017.

About the GW-NSWG Congressional Nuclear Security Fellowship

The George Washington University Elliott School of International Affairs’ Congressional Nuclear Security Fellowship is a new, full time, paid Fellowship program in the US Congress. Fellows spend one year working on nuclear security issues in the US Congress. The fellowship is administered by the Nuclear Security Working Group at the George Washington University Elliott School of International Affairs, with grant support from the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation.

Fellowships begin in January, at the start of the legislative session, and end at the close of the legislative session in December of the same calendar year. Fellowships will be offered for the first time in the 2017 calendar year.

2017 Fellowship Class

Minsu Crowder-Han is serving in the office of Congressman Chuck Fleischmann (R-TN), a principal member of the CNSWG. Crowder-Han most recently managed Federally-funded nuclear security projects at CRDF Global, an independent nonprofit organization that promotes international scientific and technical collaboration. She also spent two years in the International Atomic Energy Agency’s Division of Nuclear Security. She holds two Masters of Arts, from Georgetown University and King’s College London.

sans-headshot tiny

Nate Sans is serving in the office of CNSWG Co-Chair Congressman Pete Visclosky (D-IN). Sans previously managed a major study of the International Atomic Energy Agency at the Partnership for a Secure America, a nonprofit organization founded by former Congressman Lee Hamilton and Senator Warren Rudman to advance bipartisanship on critical national security and foreign policy challenges. Sans is a former non-resident junior fellow at the Center for the National Interest and a graduate of Middlebury College.

In addition to their host offices, the Fellows have worked closely with the office of CNSWG Chair Congressman Jeff Fortenberry (R-NE), providing policy, technical, and organizational support for their legislative and outreach activities within the broader policy community.  Fellows have facilitated high-level meetings between CNSWG members and host of nuclear security stakeholders including Swiss Ambassador to Iran Giulio Haas, IAEA Director General Yukiya Amano, and senior leadership of the International Institute of Strategic Studies, the Center for Arms Control and Nonproliferation, and National Security Council.